Healthier Fitter and Better Body

I started going to gym about a year and half ago.  Since then, I was very passionate about getting healthier and getting fitter – body, mind, and soul.  I never struggle with my weight, but I have been trying to gain some weight since I was still in school.  I was very skinny.  I weighed only 39kg back then.  But, I was happy by the way, I didn’t have problem with my health.  However, I didn’t like people to tell me that I am too thin, I still don’t.  I wasn’t just skinny, I only stand about 5 feet tall, that makes me tiny, even today.  Finding clothes was a bit difficult.

I love sports, I joined tennis when I was 13 and I was…I’m not trying to boast here, but I was one of the best female tennis players in my town, despite my size.  Too bad, I never pursue that.  I stopped playing when I was 16 ( I think so..can’t remember).  Reason? Examination…my study.  I still played with friends, once in a while, not that often anymore.  At age 18, I joined the beginner basic coaching course.  So, basically, I am a certified tennis coach for beginners.  I stopped playing when I entered University in 2006.  I was 20.  Well, not all together stopped.  I was in my second year in University, and one of my seniors found that I could play tennis, asked me to represent his team for competition.  That only lasted for about a year.  By the time I left University in 2009, I weighed 42kg.  That was my ideal weight, some people told me.

I gained 3kgs of weight over the three years in University.  Three kilogrammes of FAT! How do I know it? My belly.  I did not not look as skinny as I was in school, but people still look at me, and asked me to put on more weight.  I had a very bad body posture.  I think it is common with those underweight people.  When I got my first job immediately after graduation; it was the beginning of my inactive lifestyle.  I stopped exercising altogether, and the effect of that started to show about a year and a half later.  I had bad constipation problem, I would catch flu once every few months, and I was just tired everyday.  I even had digestive problems, which badly affected my appetite.  I did not enjoy eating anymore, because I wanted to throw up if I ate too much, constipation made it worst.

I was 25, and that was when I realized, I needed to do something and so, I started going to gym, with my mom.  Unlike me, mom struggles with her weight.  She lost 8kgs of weight in two weeks, since started gym and her health improved tremendously.  Her diabetic level went down to almost normal; her high blood pressure also went down to normal. However, she stopped going to gym for almost eight months, because she had to take care of grandma.  She had to start from square one.  I am glad she started to lose weight again, today.  I am happy to see her smiles when she started to wear her old clothes again, clothes that once too small for her.

As for me, my health improved too.  My constipation problem gone, I had my appetite and energy back.  I even sleep better.  About a year or so, I actually lost three kilogramme.  I was back to 39kg.  Probably I did too much cardio exercises, and I decided to do some weight training as well.  I also started to explore the importance of nutritious product, and taken some organic oatmilk and organic protein since then.  With the weight training and the nutritious product I took, I gained 2kg in a few months, and I believe it was the muscle weight.  The last time I stood on the weighing scale was the first week of 2013 during my second body analysis.  I weighed 41.3kg – muscle weight.  The first body analysis was in December 2012.  Comparing the two – I actually gained muscle weight, my body fat went down, I went from underexercised to thin.  My metabolism rate went up from 17-year-old to 16-year-old.

My bones density has improved as well, thanks to the muscle mass I gained.  My point is, I’m not showing off, but I am happier, stronger, and younger.  I don’t get sick very often now.  I’m turning 27 this year, the big 30 is coming, and I realized looking and feeling younger is important.  I got rid of some of that flabby stomach I’ve tried to get rid for years.  For the year 2013, I hoped to do better in my health and to see mom lose all those weights and get healthier.  Mom and I started to take our protein shakes few mornings in a week.  Thinking about it, all it takes is a start.  Mom and I had been talking about going to gym a few years back.  But, we never start, until some health problem I experienced.  We were lazy at first, but today, it has become our routine.  Mom stopped going to gym in a while though, but she does her workout at home.  I, on the other hand, has busy working schedule, but I slot in time, whenever I can for workout.  Once an effort is not an effort anymore.  Getting a healthier and fitter me has become a part of me.  It can be part of yours too, if you start now.  You’ll be amazed by the changes.

(I started yoga recently, will post that soon.  So, this will be my last entry as I would be away for five days.  As I pledged (to myself of course) to be more active this year, and I want to keep you entertained, new entry will be up as soon as I’m back from traveling).

One thought on “Healthier Fitter and Better Body

Leave a Reply

