Flame Ballet

On Sept 1, 2012, I had the privilege to photograph a dance concert called the ‘Flame Ballet Concert’.  As I mentioned it before, I love photography and stage photography is one of the most challenging photography skills I really need to learn.  Flame Ballet Concert was hosted by Lions Club of Sibu City with the participation from Sibu Ballet Academy.  One of the charity projects of the Lions Club to help the needy.

As I mentioned before also, I am an amateur photographer.  But, for the past two years, since I got hold of my DSLR camera, I can say.. I improved a lot.  For sure, there are a lot of things to learn, especially in choosing the right angle and the right settings. Three of us were on duty that night and in this photography, I was standing at the far right of the stage, so for me, there was not much to be done.  One of my colleagues took the centre and another took the far left side. All of us had our different angles.


Thanks for checking out.  I really hope you enjoy it, and leave a comment if you have anything to say.

19 thoughts on “Flame Ballet

      1. Over 260,000 if i’m not mistaken. Not a very big town. It is along the Rejang River (the longest river in Malaysia). We keep up with the modern world, but still preserving the tradition and culture. Mostly Chinese. The council has been making a lot of effort in promoting greener town to the people. Surely the people really need more education in conservation. Sibu is one of the cleanest towns in Sarawak (thumbs up for the council). As some tourists said it.

      2. I can say that Sibu could be one of the towns in Malaysia to be ever developed and grew by Christians missionaries in the late 19th century and early 20th century. Most Chinese here believe in Christianity.

      3. Well..praise the Lord!!! We are sisters in Christ. I grew up a Catholic 🙂 No, I never been to the United States. It is my dream to go to US. I am trying to save enough money to go on vacation there. How about you? been to any part of Malaysia before? Kuala Lumpur?

  1. Over 260,000 if i’m not mistaken. Not a very big town. It is along the Rejang River (the longest river in Malaysia). We keep up with the modern world, but still preserving the tradition and culture. Mostly Chinese. The council has been making a lot of effort in promoting greener town to the people. Surely the people really need more education in conservation. Sibu is one of the cleanest towns in Sarawak (thumbs up for the council). As some tourists said it.

  2. Do you have any other pictures on this concert? Because I’m one of the dancers too 🙂 Love your photos much! Your photos are beautiful! Would you like to share more pictures about the concert?

    1. Hi Elisha, I’m sorry i got back to you a little late…These are the better photos I had for the concert. I was hoping that they would have more concert in the future…that was the first ballet concert in Sibu actually…Ballet is not the most ‘popular’ or favourable dance in this small town…so keeping my finger crossed that another similar concert would be held in this town.

  3. Hey! I’m sorry that I got back to you this late! Would like to tell you that we will he having a concert this year end 😛 I will get back to you and tell you the actual date! Do you mind sharing some other photos?

Leave a comment