Memory lane through Retro Camera

I love taking photographs, though not always good at it.  If you look back at all the photos I took, all of them are very simple.  I believe my favourite picture is the simplest one.  It goes the same with my writings too.  I use…probably the simplest words, sentences, or phrases to express what I feel (I know there are a lot of things that needed improvements).  I like it because it is easier to understand, I don’t want to make a mess on my sentences and of course, I got a lot of things to learn, especially in expanding my vocabulary.

I bought smartphone about a year ago.  It cost me a lot of money, but I had to get it anyhow because I wanted it.  I mean…a lot of people using it, my friends had it, and they really showed and told me how great smartphones are.  And to see those ads in the paper and in TV, I was so tempted to buy it, so I bought one…and it was so WORTH it.

As I said, my pictures are very simple.  And…pretty dull sometimes.  So, that’s when editing, effects..etc came in.  When I bought the smartphone, I didn’t know what apps I should install.  In fact, my sister installed most of the applications.  Just like me, she loves taking photos, and loves different kinds of cameras’ application.  She did install a few of them in my phone, and one of my favourite is Retro Camera.  It takes beautiful pictures…simple and beautiful.  Well…at least it works for me.

My favourite pictures are the pictures that I could really ‘connect’ to.  Just like writing… I wanted a material I could relate to..and most importantly the readers…YOU… could relate to (so YOU could click the ‘follow‘ button :-))  What is important is the connection.  So Retro Camera actually provides me with that connection…most of the time.  What’s cool?  No editing process!  Whenever I capture my house, and mom’s garden, or anytime  i feel like using the application, i could connect to it.  It feels like memories….  So here are some of the ‘memories’ I want to share.

 It was a rainy day on Saturday late evening.  I was waiting for my friend to fetch me. Our colleague asked us for a favour that day.  So we or should I say…she (my friend who fetched me) had to drive for 45 minutes to a small town for some photography.  My friend arrived as soon as I press the capture button on my phone.  Though it was raining, we had fun.

I grew up in the 90s.  Back  then, there were not many book shops in town and all of them looked a lot like this.  Crammed with books, so little space to walk, books weren’t organise according to genre (at least now, these book stores are more organised).  I still go to this place…well..once in a blue moon.  Right now, we have franchise bookstore, such as Popular bookstore…where we could get latest books almost every month.  And they come up with membership cards…so yeah..we could enjoy discounts.

When I was a kid, I spent a lot of  my evening time here with mom.  I used to help her with her flowers.   I remember she gave me a small pot of cactus, and she said ‘This is yours, take care of it, water it, see it grow’  I did see it grow.  It was beautiful.

My mother spent a lot of time with the family dog here too.  She loves dogs.  So do I.  He died a few years ago and we truly missed him.   I remember also, my dad used to plant tomato somewhere here.  Just like mom, he entrusted the tomato plant to me and I took care of it.

Mom loves different kinds of flowers, and orchid is one of her favourites.

I just want to take this picture.  There were so many watermelons at a supermarket one day and I just had to take pictures of them.  They look pretty good.

Dad travels to outstation a lot.  This is the place where he stores all his stuff when at home.

Haa…You know… I misplaced the key to my office desk drawer one day.  I searched it for about a week before I gave up the search.  I asked the one in-charge to get someone to crack the drawer open and replaced it with new locks and keys.  I had to pay RM10 for the replacement.  When it was done, found the key at another bag.

Not many people get the job they wanted.  When I was in school, I knew what I want to be when I grow up.  I hold on to that, and I worked hard to get where I am today.

This was taken during the last Raya visit.

4 thoughts on “Memory lane through Retro Camera

Leave a Reply

